University of Houston Department of Computer Science

The Department of Computer Science at the University of Houston was founded in 1967; one of the first established in the country. The department currently has 27 tenured or tenure-track faculty members.

The goal of this department is to be a champion in interdisciplinary and innovative research. It requires a strong commitment to collaboration that brings together leaders in two or three specialized fields. This attitude is also reflected in our willingness to open our department to collaboration with industry, teach team work to our students, and construct computing solutions for a rapidly changing world.